GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Grace's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We bought 15 iron sheets for 10,500 KES, nails for 3,500 KES, poles for 11,400 KES and paid 10,000 KES to enlarge my house. We also bought a wooden door for 3,500 KES, transport cost was 3,000 KES and the rest of the transfer was spent on other HH expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My house was quite small and uncomfortable with no proper door, but I have since enlarged it and it can well fit my family and our belongings and it now has a proper door.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying a goat @ ksh 3000 the remaining part i used it on food at home.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Planning to build a big spacious house and house hold goods .
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
First, I would like to build a big house because this is too small for us. Secondly I would like to buy a goat because it is easier to raise compared to a Cow.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I'm proud of raising God fearing children and being able to send them to school especially after the death of my spouse.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I would say,the sickness I have is my biggest hardship because I'm too weak to fend for my family and sometimes they go without food.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I'm happiest in the evening while having dinner together with my children because we make jokes and have fun while eating and that is when I get to know their likes and dislikes.