chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Irene's Profile
Irene's family
Irene
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Irene's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 15000 KES in buying steel windows and doors, 10000 KES in paying dowry , 15000 KES in buying a cow, 4000 KES in paying school fee and used the rest of the money in buying food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved because previously I was using a mat as a door but now I have a steel door, this is an achievement that I didn't know I would meet in my life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 8,000 KES to buy chairs. Bought my son in primary school fee. I also purchased foodstuffs with the remaining portion.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a spacious iron roofed house because the current one is too small. I'm also planning to fence my compound with barbed wire for security purpose.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to fence my compound for security purposes. Secondly l would wish to cement my house because where I am staying is water logged area. I would also like to build a kitchen to help me prepare meals for my children. Finally l would like to use the rest of the money to pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that after the death of my husband my house which was grass thatched fell down so I had to move and stay in rental house but I have struggled and built iron roofed house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in morning when all my children are in good health.