chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 20,000 KES school fee for my four children then my husband added some money to the rest of the cash and bought 5000 bricks at 48,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My children are no longer being sent out of school because of fee arrears.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid school fees for my children with the whole token payment.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to clear school fees for my four children in high school and buy building stones.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to build a house. I also plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees. I also plan to start a business that would provide an income to my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have struggled so hard and bought land which I built my home.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I lack a stable source of income. I have a large family comprising of my children and orphans who I take care of. This requires adequate income to sustain and therefore my income is strained.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when am in weeding in my farm.