chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Eliakim's Profile
Eliakim's family
Eliakim
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
73
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Eliakim's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying sand 8000 KES, soil 4000 KES, 8 bags of cement 6640 KES, Labor 12000 KES, 2 goats 6600 KES , weeding on my farm 4000 KES and 4 windows 10000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen in my life is that i am in a good spacious house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a steel door at 8,000 KES and the rest I bought sand to repair my house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy bulls to help me in ploughing my farm and also pay school fees (secondary school)
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
First, I plan to set up my own business. I am a painter and I would like to venture into a business of buying and selling paints so that I can earn something out of it. Secondly, I plan to buy two bulls and an oxen plough that will aid in farming.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I managed to educate my children properly and I'm happy that they have secured good jobs.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is lack of access to farm equipments that I can use to till my land properly.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning because this is the time I look after my livestock as I feed them because they are my only source of wealth.