GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
57
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We bought iron sheets with 14000 KES, timber 9000 KES, three windows with 9000 KES, steel door 7000 KES, ropes 1000 KES, nails 7000 KES, and maize with 2160 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have gotten a new house and feel so happy about it.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought iron sheets 5000 KES, timber and poles 2200 KES and the rest I spent on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a bigger house with the upcoming lampsum transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer money to buy building materials which I will use to construct a bigger house. I also plan to spend some of the money to buy furniture. I also plan to use the remaining balance to boost my business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have strived so hard and managed to construct a small iron roofed house for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life when we couldn't afford a meal in a day due to food insecurity. Life was harsh on us and it was such a hard time for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of my day is in the evening when am able to get food for my children. We eat together as a family and it gives me pride.