GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Millicent's Profile
Millicent's family
Millicent
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
41
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Millicent's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to pay school fees of 15000 kshs to my child in high school, l bought steel-door at 7500 kshs, l spent the transfer to plaster my house so l bought 6 bags of cement at 4000 kshs, labor-charge 3000 kshs, l bought for my children and my spouse shoes at 4000 kshs, l also spent 10000 kshs to improve my business the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has changed because my business is doing good and now am getting my daily income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a bed @4,000KES and a matress @ 4,500KES for myself because I used to sleep on a mat.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We plan to buy a motorbike to use it for transport business so that we may have a source of income.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend the transfer to build my own pit latrine and pay my children's secondary school fee.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have been able to educate my children through hard work as a quarry miner.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is lack of sufficient finances to feed and educate my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up a live.