GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Zilpa's Profile
Zilpa's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Zilpa's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought two rolls of barbed wire at 10,000 KES, 48 cidar poles at 12,000 KES, a bag of cement at 800 KES, four kilograms of nails at 800 KES, paid 2,000 KES labour charge for fencing my compound, bought 15 iron sheets at 9,750 KES, 20 roofing poles at 3,000 KES, 28 wall poles at 3,500 KES, 20 kilograms of nails at 4,000 KES, paid 2,500 KES labour for building a kitchen then paid 1,000 KES school fee for my elder daughter in high school.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My home is now secure because of the fence hence I can palnt potatoes and maize without the worries of animals destroying my plants.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid school fees 5000 KES and settled a debt of 5000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to cement my home, built a kitchen and cement my house with the upcoming lumpsum transfer.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my child who is joining secondary school, I will buy wire mesh so that I can fence my home, I will renovate my house by buying bags of cement to be used in cementing it and I will build a kitchen as I currently don't have one forcing me to cook in the open.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I was able to buy four goats that I keep using cash that I got from saving and lending scheme in the village.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that getting school fees for my children is a problem as my income is low and at times my children are sent home.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm in morning to plough it,I feel happy knowing that when the crops grow well I can harvest them and feed my family.