GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > William's Profile
William's family
William
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
41
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on William's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buy bout worth 24500 kshs, l also bought cow at 15000 kshs, 3 windows at 7000 kshs the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has really change because l am using my boat for fishing and l get my daily income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a sheep at 2,800 KES , constructed a pit latrine at 3,00 KES and bought fishing nets at 3,000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to enlarge my house as it cannot comfortably contain my family and our belongings.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying boats and nets that I can use in my fishing business. Will also buy another piece of land because our land is small and I would wish to have another land that I can do farming activity. I will part of the transfer on buying some sheep and cows that I can keep for meat and milk to supplement my family's diet.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have been able to build a house for my family using cash from my fishing business hence my family now have a place they call home.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that fishing business is currently not doing well hence my income has gone down therefore getting money to support my family is a challenge.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when we wake up in the morning and my family is having peace,that makes me happy.