GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Joyce's Profile
Joyce's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Joyce's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to pay secondary school fees (30000), paid fees and bought uniforms for my children in nursery school (2800), invested in tailoring materials/aid (10000) and bought food (7000).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
After the passing of my husband, i had no money to enroll my two young children in nursery school, but the token supported me and they joined school. I have a candidate in form four and a child meant to join form one, school fee debts had accumulated and i do not know how i would have cleared but i was able to clear and they are studying well. I will also buy a small piece of land to avoid the wrangles with my in-laws over the piece of land my husband left behind. I thank God for GD.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000KES for school fees, and finished the walls of my iron roofed house. I also spent 2,500KES repairing my sewing machine.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy another sewing machine and rolls of fabric, and open a tailoring shop. this will provide me with a source of income and I will be able to pay school fees for my children because am widowed and have no financial support.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on repairing my house because ever since my husband died the house has not been in good shape, I will pay school fees for my children and to invest the remaining amount in my business of tailoring by buying materials.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have been able to take my child to school till she finished high school using cash from my tailoring business.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my income from tailoring is not stable as getting capital for my business is not easy as I am also a widow.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest of my day is when I wake up in the morning to start my job of tailoring, I am happy knowing that I will get money to sustain my family.