<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Elizabeth's Profile
Elizabeth's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Elizabeth's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 25000 KES of the first lumpsum in catering for the cost of building iron roof house, bought a cow at 19000 KES, used 2000 KES in school and then spent the rest of the money on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved because I now have a bigger house compared to the squeezed
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying 10 pieces of iron sheets ksh 6000, uniform ksh 1500 and 1 sack of maize ksh 2400
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning on building my own home.
access_time almost 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy iron sheets, timber,nails and sand because I want to build a house in my own home. I am planning to spend the remaining amount on school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proud of taking good care of my children and sending them to school despite the fact that I don't have a proper job.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship has been to raise enough capital inorder to revive my shop business that I closed down due to insufficient stock.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning because this is the time I clean my house,wash the utensils as I plan how to find food for my children.