<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Milca's Profile
Milca's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Milca's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought ulcer drugs for my sickling child at 6,000 KES, paid 22,000 KES school fee for my daughter in high school, used 20,000 KES to buy materials for constructing a fishing boat then used the rest on food for my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My family is no longer going hungry as it used to happen before because I used the Token to start a fish business.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid a college school fees for my son using 5600 KES of my token payment and I spent the remaining 4400 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy a boat using the whole of my upcoming lumpsum payment.
access_time almost 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to start operating a business of buying and selling second hand clothes. I am also planning to spend the rest on school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was being able to switch from a leaking grass thatched house to an iron sheet roofed house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is inadequate food in the house.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when there is no more job pending in the house and I'm able to relax a bit as I think of what to prepare for supper.