GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Juliana's Profile
Juliana's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Juliana's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent on building an iron roofed house. I paid 4,000 KES school fees. I also bought 2 goats at 7,000 KES and maize at 1,600 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I lived in a small damaged house that was nearly collapsing, but I now live in a proper house.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l bought building materials ( building poles , nails) , l also bought a bag of maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to buy building material ( iron sheets) l also plan to pay for building labor. l also plan to buy two bull that l can use for farming.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to build a new house, buy cattle and a hoe for farming and to pay school fees for our children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is raising my children through this casual jobs i do.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is taking care of my children. God blessed me with quite a number of them, I struggle to make ends meet.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I go for some casual job because I know I will be paid and so my children have food for that day.