GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Florah's Profile
Florah's family
Florah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
37
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Florah's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 20 iron sheets at 12,000 KES, 38 wall poles at 6,080 KES, 32 roofing poles at 5,120 KES, ten kilograms of nails at 1,500 KES, paid 5,000 KES labour charge, used 2,000 KES on food for the workers, paid 3,000 KES for my son who is on welding training, gave 2,000 KES to my brother who is sickling, paid 2,500 KES school fee for my four children in Primary school, gave 2,000 KES to my husband, bought clothes and shoes for my children adn I at 5,800 KES, am still having 1,000 KES cash then used th rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now at peace because my children are now smart and can freely intermingle with other children without discrimination.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We (with spouse)spent my Token payment on a few house construction materials for 8,000 KES and food for 2,000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We (with my spouse) plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on more housing materials ,construction of a new house and plastering, as well as sponsoring our son for Basic Welding Course.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to buy cattle and a hoe for farming, build a new house, buy a welding machine for my child and to shop for household items that I lack.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is farming because it's what I depend on to feed my children. I feel proud because I work so hard and I have been able to atleast raise my children through that.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is feeding my children, and lack of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I'm having dinner with my children.