chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Agness's Profile
Agness's family
Agness
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
32
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent 40,000 KES of my second transfer on adding capital to my spare parts in my motorcycle business.The rest of the money I used to pay school fees for my child.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of buying cows.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because my business is doing well and I have good returns hence I can meet daily needs.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to cement both walls and floor of my house. paid school fee to my aunt in high school. I also purchased family foodstuffs with the remaining portion of the transfer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I'm now relieved from walls and roof repairs because I've already cemented it.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l built a toilet.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to pay school fee to my sister in law , l also plan to expand my business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to repair our house, build a toilet, pay school fees especially for our eldest child who is joining form one next year and the rest we will invest in a motorcycle spare parts business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is building this house. We had to do it bit by bit because we didn't have enough finances.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face now is lack of finances, I totally depend on my husband. I may want something but I can't get it because I do not have the money to buy it.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is during lunch when my children have food because sometimes we go without.