GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Silas's Profile
Silas's family
Silas
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
37
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Silas's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to build my children iron roofed house. Bought two goats. I also purchased family foodstuffs with the remaining portion of the transfer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my children now have a place to sleep . My children are aged but were sleeping in my house which is a taboo based on our tradition but they were doing this because of my inability to build them one as a result of financial constraints.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought iron sheets at 4,000 KES, school uniforms and food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a house, invest in tomato farming and to pay school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to start a business, do large scale commercial farming and to pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is farming because this is what i do full time, I have been able to raise my children through this.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the burden of school fees especially when schools are opening.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around mid day when I get to relax after working at the farm.