GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Benta's Profile
Benta's family
Benta
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
59
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on plastering my house.I also built an iron roofed house for my son and bought food for my family.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of building rental houses to earn me income.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have a dust free house and a place where my son can sleep.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on building an iron roofed house.I also want to add capital to my maize business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my child have a house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the entire transfer to pay fees to my brother's son in high school.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build some houses for rental with the transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to buy agricultural land that I can use to grow crops. I also plan to spend some of the transfer money to pay school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have tried and managed to build a house for my family. It wasn't that easy because I had to save the little money that I had to buy building materials.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is when my husband was sick and we couldn't afford to pay for his medication. He succumbed to death. It was so painful.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I manage to make profit from my small business. I always feel happy when this happen to me because it is a source of my livelihood.