GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Dorothy's Profile
Dorothy's family
Dorothy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
34
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Dorothy's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on paying school fees for my children.I also bought building materials(10 bags of cement and sand) and 2 tables.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my child has never been sent home from school since I paid school fees.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent my Token payment on secondary school fee and food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on improvement of our house, and paying school fee for our child.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer on school fees. I also plan to spend the transfer to repair my house. I also plan to use the remaining balance to start a small business that would boost my income and therefore support my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to build iron roofed house. In the past I used to stay in a grass thatched house which used to leak. After saving money for a period of time, I managed to achieve that.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced is when I became sick and couldn't go for any work. I couldn't get any money to even pay for my medication and support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am able to get food for my family. I feel happy because its part of my obligation.