GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Emily's Profile
Emily's family
Emily
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House construction
faceAge:
28
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Emily's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 15 iron sheets at 9,300 KES, 15 roofing poles at 2,400 KES, 20 wall poles at 3,000 KES, ten kilograms of nails at 2,000 KES, paid 1,300 KES labour charge, one wooden bed at 4,000 KES, one sofaset at 7,000 KES, one cow at 20,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now able plow my farms easily because I now have enough cows after adding one bull.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the whole of my token payment on a steel door and fixing it.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am having a smaller house and school fees balance and therefore I am planning to build a bigger house and clear those school fees balances.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles, nails and iron roofing sheets which I will use to enlarge my house,I will also use part of the transfers to buy some oxen and a ploughing machine in to maximise efficiency when I am tilling my farm.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having had a small business where I used to sell tomatoes and fish, this business enabled me to own a few chicken because I used to diligently save all the profit I used earned.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to buy a few oxen and a ploughing machine, this means that I till my farms using manual labour and this is not very efficient, we might have to abandon farming for a while until we have a ploughing machine and some oxen.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when my spouse comes home, I usually prepare his dinner and while we are eating we often have lively conversations as tells me about events that occured at his work place.