GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > George's Profile
George's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on George's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my first transfer to plaster my house (17400), paid school fees and bought books (7400), college fees (4500), paid debt (3500), bought a solar lamp (4500), food, utensils and clothes (10000) and ploughed with 3000.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My house is fully plastered and now i live free of dust, my children got the school books they need and i no longer buy paraffin for lighting since i have a solar light.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 2,200 KES to buy grains for family consumption. Bought uniforms for my two children in primary school. Paid my son in high school 3,000 KES fee. I also puerchased foodstuffs for family consumption with the remaining portion.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement both walls and floor of my house because at the moment its earth. I'm also planning to pay my son in high school fee.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to plaster the walls and floor so as to prevent diseases that are dust-born.I am planning to spend a half of my transfer on school fees because it is the main burden I have.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of was paying dowry to my in laws and now we are legally married and we have raised children and have also sent them to school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I would say, raising school fees has been my biggest difficulty because I don't have a proper source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I'm happiest in the evening when I have finished all the work and I'm able to relax as I read my bible while waiting to have dinner together with my children.