GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Beatrice's Profile
Beatrice's family
Beatrice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
25
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Beatrice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a semi-permanent house of 40 iron sheets with the whole of my first lumpsum transfer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was initially living in a house of 15 iron sheets which was inadequate for my household members; there was overcrowding and poor general air circulation and again I never had my privacy at all-till I upgraded to a house of 40 iron sheets that has also decompress us, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 8250 KES on 15 iron sheets, 1000 KES on my child's school fees and 1000 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan on building an iron roofed house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We have planned to build a bigger house and set up a small business to keep us going.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was when I was doing my own business of selling rice and fish which gave small money to take care of our daily needs.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship has been not being able to take my children to school,for a full term because of lack of money.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when we are sited together as a family and sharing how our day has been.