GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Helidah's Profile
Helidah's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Helidah's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 30,000 KES to pay school fees for my two sons in secondary school, paid 1,000 KES as school levies for my son in primary school, bought three sheep for 4,200 KES, constructed a cattle shade for 3,000 KES, bought two bags of maize for 6,000 KES and farming expenses cost me 3,000 KES. The rest was used to buy food in the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been relieved of the burden of looking for money to pay school fees for my children and now they can consistently go to school.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I cleared school fees balance for my children using the whole of my token payment.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I wanted to renovate my main house, invest in maize farming and clear school fees for my children.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to pay school fees and plaster my house. I will also buy some livestock.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I have been able to support my family through farming since my husband died.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is paying fees and feeding my family,since am not employed.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am relaxing