GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Idah's Profile
Idah's family
Idah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
24
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Idah's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a solar and a wet cell at 12,000 KES, a cow at 15,000 KES and two sacks of maize at 6,000 KES. I invested in fishing nets at a cost of 10,000 KES. I saved the rest of the money for building a house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I currently own items I never had before such as a solar panel & a wet cell and even sacks of maize.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the entire transfer to buy a young cow and two sheep.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy a parcel of land where I'll establish my home because at the moment I don't have my own land and resides at my parent's place.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to open up a business to generate income for my family. Secondly l would wish to pay dowry to my parents. Lastly l would like to use the rest of the to educate my child.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have struggled to build our own house after the death of my parents.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when I wake up and all my family members are in good health.