GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Joshua's Profile
Joshua's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Joshua's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I extended and renovated my main house with 15000 KES of my first lumpsum transfer, I spent 18000 KES on a sofa set, 12000 KES on a donkey and the remaining 4000 KES on 2 sheep.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now able to eke out a living from my beast of burden-a donkey that I bought in courtesy of GD, which has increased my earnings and living standards, which has been the biggest difference in my daily life.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 7200 KES of my token payment on a steel door and 2800 KES of it on a sheep.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to expand my main house and pay school fees for my children using the rest of the payment.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to pay school fees for my children and rebuild my house since its licking.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have educated my children through high school and I would love to see them go to college
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship was when I became sick and I could not do a lot of things to support my family
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I see my children off to school.