GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Purity's Profile
Purity's family
Purity
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
26
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Purity's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy iron sheets (6000), chairs (10400), 3 goats (7000), paid school fees (16500) and food and household utensils (10000).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Life has become easier because my house was very small but i was able to expand it, i did not have chairs but now i have comfortable seats, my goats are doing well, school fees has been paid and i harvested beans from the land i leased with my token payment so food is not a problem. I am so thankful to GD.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 3,500 KES in farming activities. I also paid my child in form four school fee.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to pay fee to my two children in high school. I'm also planning to build a pit latrine with the remaining amount.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Our first priority is to spend a portion of our transfer on school fees and education because that is the main burden we have right now. Our second plan is to spend the remaining amount to buy a piece of land that we can use for farming inorder to avoid food shortage.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I'm proud of owning a house because I didn't have one before since I used to stay in my brother in law's house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that I don't have a job,hence I'm not able to raise school fees nor feed my children properly.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest in the morning when I am working on my farm because it gives me hopes of getting a good harvest.