GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Lillian's Profile
Lillian's family
Lillian
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House construction
faceAge:
24
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Lillian's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 35000 KES of my first lumpsum payment on 2 oxen, I repaid my loan with 5000 KES, I paid 3000 KES secondary school fees for my brother and I spent the remaining 7000 KES on daily household needs like food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I used to delay my farming activities due to lack of means to plow my farms something that used to affect my yields generally but since I received transfers from GD, I managed to buy some oxen something that has bolster productivity in my farms.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5000KES loan, and 3,500KES school fees for my children.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy a plough and oxen for preparing my land during planting season.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on repairing my house by having it cemented and I will also buy two cows and a ploughing machine together with renting a farm that we will plant our crops.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that we have been able to build our own house as we used to stay at the market centre before but now we have our own house that we built using cash from my husband's masonry work.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is paying school fees for my children is difficult as our income source is inadequate to cater for the high school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I am cooking for my children supper,it makes me happy to know that they will have food to eat after a long day.