GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Hellen's Profile
Hellen's family
Hellen
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Hellen's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 12800 KES of my first lumpsum transfer on 20 iron sheets, 34000 KES on 2 oxen, 1800 KES on a mattress and 1125 KES on a cart of murram.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now living with a lot of courage since GD has increased my wealth/ property ownership. I have an increased value in my community since I have acquired more livestock in courtesy of GD, the biggest difference in my daily life. I have kept the livestock as a safety net.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to buy family clothes. Bought myself a mattress worth 4,000 KES. Bought a blanket at 2,000 KES. Sent my son in primary school 1,000 KES. I also used the remaining portion of the transfer to repair the walls of my house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy two oxen and an ox-plough for farming activities. I'm also planning to cement the floor of my house because its earth at the moment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to buy oxen and ploughing machine to enable me do farming in large scale to generate income to sustain my family. Secondly l would wish to plaster my house to avoid frequent repair which is very expensive. Finally l would like to build my son a house because he does not have any source of income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is l have struggled to take care of my children after the death of my husband.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is finding and educating my children as a single parent is a big challenge.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when I am able to provide food for my children.