GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Dorothy's Profile
Dorothy's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Dorothy's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the first lumpsum in buying chairs at 24000 KES, farming 7500 KES, bought television at 8000 KES, bought two sheep at 2600 KES and used the rest of the money on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I no longer have to sit on the floor because I have seven seater chairs.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on weeding ksh 4000, 2 sheep ksh 3000, 3 chicken ksh 900 and spent the balance on meals .
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend it on paying my dowry and buy chairs.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to pay dowry, buy livestock for domestic purposes and to buy household items that we lack. We also plan to boost our farming activities.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is farming. I am self reliant and able to provide for the daily basic needs of my family and to educate my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face is financial instability. As much as we try to make ends meet, there's always a deficit.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to the farm around mid morning. I feel happy then because this is my source of livelihood.