GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Pamela
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
50
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Pamela's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 34500 KES of the first lumpsum transfer on catering for the cost of plastering my house, paid 5000 KES in college for my daughter, 4000 KES in buying bedding, bought utencils worth 2000 KES, gave my relatives 2000 KES and used the rest of the money in buying food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved and I feel secured because I managed to construct a steel door in my house. My daughter is also attending computer classes as she awaits to join college.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 6700 KES of my token payment on secondary school fees balance for my daughter, I then spent 1500 KES on school uniform for my children and I spent the remaining 1800 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will renovate my main house using some part of my upcoming lumpsum payment and educate my children using the remaining amount.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to plaster my house and also buy a steel door. I also plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my daughter in high school. I also plan to spend the transfer to build a kitchen.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to build a house for my family. I was able to do this after saving money for several months.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I don't have a reliable source of income that I can use to support my family. We sometimes go without a meal for a day.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am able to get dinner for my family. I feel proud about this.