GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Jane's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 30,000KES on buying ironsheet, timber and nails, paid labour and built an iron roofed house. I also bought a cow @15,000KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now live in a good spacious house, as opposed to the small one that I lived in.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4500 KES of my token payment on a mattress, 1800 KES on 3 iron sheets, I paid for my children school fees and bought for them school uniform with 1100 KES and I spent the remaining 2600 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
If you can help me get my upcoming lumpsum payment, I will buy a cow and 15 iron sheets and build a better house.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to expand my house,I will also plaster my house and I will also set up a small business. I will also pay school fees for my child.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I used to sell some crops and I have bought some furnitures.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is that I have no proper income and making ropes is the only business I know. It does not even give proper income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am able to provide all the meals for my children.