GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Consilata's Profile
Consilata's family
Consilata
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
41
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Consilata's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 8,000 KES to buy seats. I then borrowed 30,000 KES from a Group loan and added to the remaining 40,000 KES and took my child to college.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference to me is that I have been able to have my child enrolled in college after staying at home with him for a long time. I am now relieved and happy that he is able to go to college.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a @ table 2000KES, and paid 5000KES for school fees for my child. I also bought a matress @ 4,000KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
My child completed secondary school and is idle I wish to send him to college. I also plan to construct a kitchen for my children to sleep in.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my child in college. I also plan to spend the transfer to boost my business. I also plan to renovate my house. The iron sheets are leaking.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to build my own home as a widow. My husband died long time ago while we were living in a small thatched house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I don't have enough land that I can use for agriculture. I don't have enough money to rent additional land for agriculture.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am able to get food for my family. I feel very happy when everyone in the family enjoys the meal.