GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Evaline's Profile
Evaline's family
Evaline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Evaline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum payment, I paid 5000 KES secondary school fees for my daughter then I plastered my main house with sand and cement using 22000 KES of the transfer, I bought 12 iron sheets at 8000 KES and I repaid my silk loan with 15000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was living in a dusty house infected with jiggers and flees and my life changed when I received the transfer since I plastered my main house and I am now free from such infections.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a larger portion of the transfer to fix window panes. Previously I covered my windows with boxes because I didn't have cash to fix them. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement the floor with most of the transfer. I'm also planning to build a kitchen with the remaining amount.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to renovate my house, build a toilet and to invest in business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is this house which I built after my husband's death. I have worked so hard to see my eldest child through high school. The younger ones are still in school but i still feel proud.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the burden of school fees. I still have school going children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is at night when I am having dinner with my kids. I am happy then because I feel that sense of belonging.