GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Ochiel's Profile
Ochiel's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought cement with 9000 KES, ballast 7000 KES, murram 3000 KES, labor charges 6000 KES, windows 6000 KES, sheep 2500 KES, clothes 2000 KES and left with 9000 KES
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of building rental houses.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I was homeless living in my grandmothers house but now I have my own house. I am so happy.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the transfer to build a house so l bought some building materials such as 10 iron-sheets at 8500 kshs, steel-door at 6000 kshs, 4 bags of cement at 3200 kshs, poles at 6000 kshs, nails 3000 kshs, labor charge 7000 kshs, the remaining balance l spend to buy bed at 5500 kshs and mattress at 6000 kshs .
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l was staying with my mother-in-law in the same house but now l have my own house.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the transfer as capital to start a fish selling business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet,timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house for the family.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to build a house, this is a priority because we are homeless. I also plan to invest in business, of selling second hand clothes.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is family, my husband and two kids. We live happily and in fact our eldest child just started school. It's my pride because I feel that sense of belonging.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the lack of a sustainable income source.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I get paid for some casual job I worked on that day.