GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets at 18,000 KES, used 2,000 KES on nails and transportation, paid 5,000 KES loan, a dozen of plates at 500 KES, one water tank at 1,500 KES, used 15,000 KES to restart a fingerlings business and am still having 7,000 KES in my Mpesa account which I want to add to the L2 and use to construct a good house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now able to build myself through the income that I get from the new business.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spend 5000 kshs to clear school fees balance for my child , the last part l use for medication.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to build a more comfortable, spacious house because l am leaving in a very small house.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to build a house and to boost my business. Stability of my business means I will be able to provide for my kids.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is raising my children as a single parent since my husband passed away. To see them all grown up, educated and some even working is my pride.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the instability of my income. That's why I plan to boost it so that it at least be sustainable.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when having breakfast with my family.