GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Julian's Profile
Julian's family
Julian
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
33
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Julian's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
This is how I spent my first lumpsum tranfer: I built a semi-permanent house of 22 iron sheets at a total cost of 47300 KES and I spent the remaining 2425 KES on a sack of maize.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now living happily since I have achieved my dream of acquiring a bigger house in courtesy of GD; this has eased congestion in my household and there is proper circulation and ventilation of air that I lacked before when I was living in a smaller house, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought sheep @3,000KES, a sack of maize @1,500KES, and paid 900KES medical bill for my child. I spent the rest on groceries.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy iron sheet, timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house for my family, my house fell due to the floods and am now homeless.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to pay school fees for my son who is joining form one came next year. Lastly l would wish to open up a business to generate income to support my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have struggled and bought cows for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in lack of money to sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is when having supper with my children.