GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Mauline's Profile
Mauline's family
Mauline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
26
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mauline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a 3 room house of 30 iron sheets with the whole of my first lumpsum transfer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was initially living under a leaking roof that could drench the whole of my bedding and items; this could stress us, make us catch malaria and cold, however when we received transfers from GD and constructed a better roof, we are no longer suffering, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 2,000KES on buying cushions, and paid 4,000KES for school fees. I also bought a sack of dry maize @2,500KES, and spent 3,000KES on buying nails as part of materials for constructing an iron roofed house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet and timber, and build an iron roofed house, because my house is leaking so much.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a new house because my roof is old and licks during rainy seasons and this exposes my children to diseases. I also plan to purchase household furniture I and a dairy cow. I will also start up fish business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to purchase some household furniture through merry-go-round.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is lack of sufficient finances to feed and cater for the medical needs of my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up a live.