GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Seline's Profile
Seline's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Seline's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($492 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
One cow at 15,000 KES, one goat at 2,500 KES, one sheep at 3,000 KES, a solar panel and a wet-cell at 15,000 KES, three bulbs at 1,000 KES, clothes for thee family at 1,000 KES, a sack of maize at 3,000 KES, a hoofer system at 4,000 KES, fishing net at 1,000 KES, gave 2,000 KES to my sister-in-law then used the rest on food for the family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
We are now able to easily catch fish and earn from it now that we have a good fishing net.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a cow and 2 goats.I also bought maize for my family's consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on moving to my home and build an iron roofed house.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to pay dowry to my parents. Secondly l would wish to buy a cows to act as security incase of any emergency. Lastly I would like to open up a business to generate income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to buy household items.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of food for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when my husband is back home.