GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Joshwa's Profile
Joshwa's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying 2 cows.I also bought 2 sacks of maize,sprayer pump,utensils and clothes for the whole family.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to start a business.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have livestock which is an investment to me.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on building a toilet.I also bought a cow,2 goats,chair cushions and maize.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a toilet in my home.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought chairs at 5,000 KES. I also purchased family foodstuffs with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to use a larger portion of the transfer to pay dowry. I'm also planning to invest the rest in cereal business.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy 5 cows to assist me when I am tilling my farm, some chairs for my house, a bed and a mattress to sleep in since do not have a proper bed.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having struggled and done a lot of casual work, after getting my wages I used to save a large percentage of the money and eventually I was able to build my house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself. This often means my children school fees are not paid on time and they get sent away from school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around 4 p.m, this is after I have finished any casual work that I had and I have been paid my wages. I can go home to my family and this makes me happy.