GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Anne's Profile
Anne's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Anne's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying 18 pieces of iron sheets ksh 11880, steel door ksh 8000,dug toilet and built it ksh 5900,labor ksh 2000,1 goat 2800,school fees ksh 3000,farming ksh 2300 and used balance on food,clothes and shoes.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen in my life is that i am no longer in a leaking house.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a metallic door at 5,000 KES. I also bought grains for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to replace my current roof with new iron sheets because they are too old and leaking. I'm also planning to built a pit latrine with the remaining amount.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy iron sheets, timber and nails and replace my roof as it is leaking, build a toilet, buy a reinforced door as mine is unsafe, buy a few cows to rear for their milk and finally, pay school fees for my children who are in primary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was having saved my earnings from casual jobs I do and using the money to buy second hand iron sheets, which I used to build my current roof.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is that since my husband died, I have been forced to be the sole breadwinner for a family of five. I do not have a sustainable source of income and this means that I cannot adequately provide them with basic needs, like food, clothing and education.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday when I am having lunch and relaxing with my friends and family. This makes me very happy because we get to chat and tell funny stories.