<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Samwel's Profile
Samwel's family
Samwel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Teaching
faceAge:
32
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Samwel's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I got my college certificate which was held three years ago due to fee areas at 26,000KES, I bought 18 iron sheets at 12,000KES, three goats at 6,000KES and I still have 6,000KES cash.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I could not get a job before I got my certificate from college because it was held due to fee arrears but am now employed as a teacher because I have my certificate hence I can now get some monthly pay.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a cow at 6000 kSH, I also bought iron sheet at 4,000 KSH.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build the house and buy another cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I planning to spend my transfer on connecting our home to tap water into our compound, I will pay school fees for my late brother's children and to buy cows that I can keep for milk.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that my brother and his wife died and left three kids who are orphans and they are under my care hence I managed to take care of them and pay their school fees using the little cash that I get from my teaching job.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I don't have a permanent teaching job and taking care of my brother's kids is not easy as they have a lot of basic needs that I cannot manage on my own.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to school in the morning to teach,I am happy to know that I am imparting knowledge to other young people who are future leaders.