<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Joyce's Profile
Joyce's family
Joyce
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
44
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Joyce's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a semi-permanent house of 30 iron sheets with 35000 KES of my first lumpsum payment, I paid school fees for my 2 children with 10000 KES and I spent the remaining 5000 KES on daily household needs for my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I had a house which was terribly leaking and this could expose me to frequent cold however GD enabled me build a better house, warm and leak-free and I am no longer suffering and this is a change to my life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 6,000 KSH school fees for my son in secondary school, I also bought 1bag of maize at 2,800 KSH.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build the house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer on school fees for my child who is in high school. I also plan to spend the money to start a small business as this will add up to my sources of income. I also plan to use the remaining balance to buy household items like utensils.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to construct iron roofed house for my family. I managed to do this from my savings.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in my life is when my husband broke his legs last year. It has forced me to work extra hard to provide for my family because he is bedridden and can't work.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I manage to get dinner for my family. This makes me feel very happy.