GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Zakaria's Profile
Zakaria's family
Casual labour
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($531 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different from how it would have been if I had not received the transfers in that, I do casual work which is not enough to sustain my family basic needs. Live alone other social needs and developments. We were at a status quo as a family Zero improvement. Upon receiving my transfers, I have been able to pay school fees for my children, bought food and clothes for my family members. We are no longer a laughing stock in the village.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, I confidently vouch that GD has brought a great transformation in the lives of the people in my community. Most children in my community are now attending school, structures have been improved and there are less grass-thatched houses, and most evidently you can see that there is joy in the community. Peoples have become lively. In all that I have not seen anything that GD did not do well.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
Upon receiving my second transfer, I bought a cow and a ram. The cattle will help me raise money in the future when I am in dire need of quick money to sort out emergencies when they arise. Besides that, I spent the better part of my transfers to hire land for two seasons to be able to do large scale farming. This will be my major source of income once the harvest period comes given that currently, I do casual work which is not enough to sustain my big family.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($539 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I never believed in my entire life that my children could proceed with their education beyond primary school because I believed the secondary school fee was too high for me to afford since I also didn't have a reliable source of income. Receiving the money from GiveDirectly has enabled me to take my child to secondary school and I'm so proud of it. This is the biggest difference in my daily.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was one early morning when I heard someone asking my spouse whether she had caught a grasshopper but I rubbed it off since I didn't know what he meant besides that I was working on something so I didn't give it attention. Later in the course of the day when I went for my phone, I was surprised to see that I had received money from GiveDirectly. I felt so happy and shared the news with my spouse. This was the time I came to realize what the question my friend asked the spouse meant.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used part of the money I received from GiveDirectly both to purchase school requirement for my daughte and to pay for the whole term's school fee for my daughter who just joined secondary school. Part of the money I used to buy a cow for rearing and as a way of investment for the future. Currently, I buy milk which is costly and at times we go without milk tea, so I believe after the cow has given birth I'll be able to have enough milk for family consumption. Aside from that, I have plans of selling the calf in the future in order to raise my children's school fee in case I won't be able to raise school fee by then. I also bought two sacks of corn for family consumption because I didn't get enough harvest in the last planting season that could last us for the whole year. My children too didn't have decent clothing because they had outgrown most of their clothing, so I also bought them clothing.
access_time over 5 years ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have longed to have my own cow and my own sugarcane plantation. Receiving this money is going to give me the opportunity to do all those as I have been taking care of people's cows as well as doing casual work in their farms,I thank God because I am now going to have my own farm and cow.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon after coming from work.It is not easy to get the casual work on a daily basis, so when I go out, get work and come back in the afternoon with some money for my wife to buy food for the family, I normally feel happy at this time of the day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is lack of adequate income. This has been a great set back as I have not been able to pay school fees and take good care of my family in terms of buying food,meeting medical expenses and even buy house hold items like bedding and furniture.