GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Kirui's Profile
Kirui's family
Small business
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($518 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am a subsistence farmer as well as a livestock broker in the community. I have built a desire for livestock keeping since I have brought up my family our of livestock income. When I received my transfer, I purchased three cows to add to my herd. I am glad that my desire to own a bigger herd have been met since I have added animals to my cowshed. Had it not been for the financial help from GiveDirectly, then it would have taken many years to acquire them. I will be selling the offsprings in case of a financial emergency as well as raising more money to finance my children's education through milk sales.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
We have been able to provide for our families effectively, purchasing livestock as assets and most importantly, building better iron-roofed houses thus enjoying good shelter. In my opinion, GiveDirectly has done well in our society right from training the community on the best ways to use the money and the extent of making sure that they train them on security measures to help them keep their money safe.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I am a livestock broker in the village, a job I have done to help me see my family through. It is always my wish to maintain and improve it since I do not have another better income-generating activity than this. When I received my second transfer I spent KES23000 to add to this business. I currently enjoy a higher profit that has given me a chance to meet my family needs with ease unlike before. In addition, I used KES30000 to buy two cows as a way of investing part of the transfer. I made this decision so that I could get to differentiate what belongs to my family and my business. We currently enjoy a higher milk production that has earn us extra coin through sales and added value to our diets.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($544 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
To meet my family daily needs and my children education, I have preferred to engage in small business to add to the little we get from subsistence farming. Since we receive low rainfalls in our area, we get low farm produce hence my small business has been our main source of income. I had always wished to expand to meet my rising financials needs in the family but due lack of an alternative source of income this had never been possible. I am currently happier than before with a daily difference in my life being my higher profits I earn for my business after injecting KES25000 from my first transfer to expand it. I have more to save than before and this makes me happy.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was astonished at around midnight of ninth April 2019 when I was awoken by a message notification from Mpesa that I had received money from GiveDirectly. I was left questioning myself why such late in the night but that never bordered me a lot, I instead thought of my small business that I had always wished to expand but due to ever-rising family needs, I wasn't able to grow it bigger now getting bigger.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I have relied on a small business to provide for my family since we are in an area that receives low rainfalls hence farming has never been enough to meet family needs. I had always wished to expand it but due to lack of a stable source of income and ever-rising family needs, I had never been able to. When I received the first transfer from GD, I added KES25000 to my existing business which currently makes me a happy man since I have higher profits hence I can save some unlike before when I could spend almost everything on family daily needs. Even though I had built a house before, I had not been able to purchase furniture. I had no chairs and tables in my house a situation that had always made me unhappy and even lost the confidence of bringing anyone into my house. I spent KES10000 on furniture-chairs and table that has boosted my self-esteem in society since my house currently fully furniture. I also spent KES10000 on a KenTank since we receive low rainfalls in our area we had always been forced to use unclean and unsafe water for domestic purposes during dry season a situation that had always put my family in a high risk of contracting water born diseases, I am so happy currently that after the coming long rains in our area we will always have clean water for domestic use. I spent the remaining amount part of my first transfer on my household daily basic needs.
access_time 5 years ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I do cattle business by buying them in the village and then selling at a profit during market days.I am planning to boost this business when I receive my transfers.This money will help me buy more cattle hence get more profit.I normally buy three cattle in a week but I am now aiming to double that when I receive the transfers.
What is the happiest part of your day?
After having breakfast my first activity of the day is looking after cattle.I do this for the better part of the day.This is what I like doing most since this is where I rely on to feed my family.I feel happy seeing that the cattle are well fed by the end of the day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I lost my father when I was five years old.Life became difficult since he was the bread winner.My mum was just a housewife and we had to go through a lot inorder to get the basic needs.We became casual labourers and I had to help my mother in weeding other people's farms and other available jobs at a tender age.This even affected my studies since I had to skip school sometimes inorder to assist my mother.I managed to complete my primary school studies but I did not proceed to secondary level due to lack of school fees.I started doing small businesses inorder to get some income.