<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Helen's Profile
Helen's family
Helen
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
46
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Helen's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 20,000 KES school fees. I bought bags of maize at 20,000 KES. I paid 3,000 to latrine drillers. I started groundnuts business with 4,000 KES capital. I spent the rest on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I currently have a pit latrine so I quit open defecation. Besides, I currently do groundnuts business to earn a living.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l bought a sheep. l paid school and bought school uniform.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to pay school fee because l have a huge balance, l also plan to plaster my house and to build a toilet.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
First,I have a daughter who is supposed to join form one next year and so I would like to use part of this transfer to pay her school.I would like to use the rest build a pit latrine since I don't have a toilet.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Being able to educate my children and bringing them up alone is the achievement I can talk of.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I would say the responsibility I have is my biggest hardship because I am the sole breadwinner and sometimes it's not easy for me to raise money that can help me even to feed my children and buy for them some clothes.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is during morning hours when I am cleaning my house and making sure that everything is in order.