<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Charles's Profile
Charles's family
Charles
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
57
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Charles's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a second-hand business at 45,000 KES which I use for firewood business. I spent the rest on school fees and food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I'm currently settled and more contented. I used to be anxious and restless since I had no penny and means of a livelihood.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer on paying school uniform and paid their school fee.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to pay school, l also plan to buy to buy water tank.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to buy a water tank of 6000 litres and to do large scale farming.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is raising my children, my first wife died and I have been separated from my second wife for years. I feel proud for this far I have come with my children
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is sustaining my life and that of my children especially on matters school
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go church mostly morning hours.