GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Samuel's Profile
Samuel's family
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($544 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been if I never received the transfer in that, I would still be working for someone. I am glad that GiveDirectly gave me my transfer which I was able to use in starting my own business. I operate a motorcycle where I get more profits which have made it smoothly for me to easily cater for my needs. Before the transfer, life was difficult because the little that I got could not be enough to sustain my family members. Most of the time we could quarrel with my wife when I could honestly tell her that I had no money. Our relationship was generally not good because most of the time I could not provide for my family as expected and my wife could be bitter about it. I thank GiveDirectly very much. Since I started my own business, I have not had my wife complaining about giving her less money or nothing at all.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, the idea of giving people unconditional transfers a good idea. We have the freedom to buy whatever we want and invest however we wish. I can actually say that everyone's lives in our village have improved within a short period of time.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I topped up 20000 KES from the first transfer and added it to the whole of my second amount. With a dream of owning my own morotcycle, this money was good enough. I decided to look for a second-hand motorcycle which was still in good condition. In my life, I had had been yearning to have my own business but this dream could not be actualized because of lack of money. I thank GiveDirectly very much for actualizing this dream. I do not have to work for someone where I get a few coins which had not for a long time been able to sustain my family. Today, I feel very happy because we do not argue with my wife over money issue since the profits that I get from the business has been enough unlike before.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($550 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is that I was once jobless and now at least earning income from the taxi business for through the transfer, I was able to acquire a motorbike to provide taxi services which is now a source of income to me.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I received the notification early in the morning as I was getting ready for my daily activities. I was filled with joy in my heart on the thought that I would soon acquire a motorcycle. I was very happy to receive the money from GiveDirectly.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of my first transfer on buying a second-hand motorcycle since I was jobless. I paid the full price and at least now I am now self-employed. I am earning income daily from the services I am offering to people. I spent the remaining amount on replacing my beddings since they were old and worn out such that I could not enjoy a comfortable sleep at all. I also replaced my old door which was broken due to ageing. I bought a new one and fixed it, and now my house has a good new look.
access_time over 5 years ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have been working as a cusual labour at Bamba as a barber. This job has more profit but since i am hired, it is not reliable to me. I get only two hundred shillings per day while the owner get the bigger share. Receiving this money will enable me to start my own modern barber shop at Bamba center. This will earn me more income to cater for my family needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am back from my casual daily job. It is at this time when I can plan with my wife what I have from my job. Our plans makes me feel motivated for the next day's work.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is lack of stable source of income. Currently, I am hired as a barber and the amount I receive per day can not cater for my family's basic needs. Sometimes, I have to do other casual jobs in the town to get extra cash. This makes me feel more tired when the day ends.