chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Japheth's Profile
Japheth's family
Japheth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I paid a debt of 16000 KES, built a house with 30000 KES and gave my wife 6000 KES for household shopping.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is restoring my pool business which had collapsed previously.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Life has become easier after restoring my fallen business. I now have a source of income for survival.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a second hand pool table with my first transfer (48000) and food (1700).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I had three pool tables but they were destroyed, i managed to buy a second hand pool table that boosts my income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent most of the transfer on family foodstuffs. I also purchased other household items with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy a pool table with the transfer for business purpose.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a toilet, fence my home and add more capital to boost my business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is buying a motorcycle, this is because I saved quite a lot before I managed to buy it.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a steady source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the evening when I am chatting with my friends after a hard days work.