chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Edward's Profile
Edward's family
Edward
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
56
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Edward's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I have spent the transfer to build a house (46000 KES ) and the rest to food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I have build a nice big house and my family is so happy.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 10 sheets of ironsheet with 6,000KES and nails with 4,000KES, for building a house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy timber for roofing and constructing the walls, and pay for labour to build an iron roofed house. I also plan to pay school fees for my son who is completing primary school by the end of this year.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to do poultry farming to generate income to sustain my family. Secondly l would wish to expand my house because it is small and can not accommodate my family. Finally l would like to pay school fees for my children who are soon joining high schools.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievements are that we have struggled to build our own house and lastly bought a cow.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of food for my family .
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when I am able to get some work knowing that from there l will earn a living.