GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Tom's Profile
Tom's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Tom's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 20,000KES obn buying cement, paid labour and cemented the walls and floor of my house to finish it. I also paid 10,000KES debt and spent 10,000KES on household expenditure.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was able to finish my house and now it looks more presentable. My wife is also getting some income from her food selling business.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent my Token payment on clothing, food and a wooden door in readiness for the new house we plan to build.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on construction of a new house and plastering it to the best of our ability.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to plaster my house. I also plan to use the transfer to build a toilet. I also plan to use the transfer to pay other hand men to help me in quarrying building stones.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have tried and managed to build my own house. I did this through saving money that I got from quarry.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is lack of fertile land for agriculture. I have to rent land somewhere else to do farming and this requires a lot of money.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the in the evening because that is when I eat dinner with my children.