GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Elizabeth's Profile
Elizabeth's family
Elizabeth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
53
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I had started constructing a permanent house using my previous transfers but it was not complete yet,so when I received my third transfer,I bought the remaining materials for completion of the house. Even though it is not complete,I am hopeful that I will complete it soon. I was tired of smearing with mud which was even expensive as I always had to buy water and the soil all the time I wanted to smear.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When i received my second transfer i bought 4000 bricks which took me 40000KES,I also bought i lorry of sand using the reamaining 10000KES since i want to construct my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen is that i have made a big step forward as the first transfer i used to purchase rice which i now sell, my family never sleep hungry.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a sack of maize at 3,600 KES, one wooden bed at 3,000 KES and 40 kilograms of rice at 3,000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to build an iron roofed house with bricked walls.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy roofing sheets, poles, nails and other building materials so that I may put up a larger house, since the one I currently occupy is small and my family has grown bigger.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proudest of the fact that I have been able to to support four of my children through secondary school even after the death of their father.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life has been paying school fees for my children. I currently have one child in high school and another one in college, but I have to struggle, especially being a widow.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part part of my day is whenever I am in the company of kids from a local kindergarten where I sometimes work part time.