GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > John's Profile
John's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on John's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought two cows 24000 KES,a goat 4000 KES and spent 13000 KES to pay dowry. The spent 7000 KES for shopping and food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Paying dowry has been worrying me because I could not afford it on my own. I now feel free, released and happy.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent it on buying a sheep at 3,500 KES, a sack of maize at 2,500 KES and settled 1,500 KES debt. I spent the remaining amount on food during the festive season.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to pay my wife's dowry and to hire land for maize and tomato farming.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfe to farming in large scale to generate income. Secondly l would wish to open up a business to generate income to support my family. Finally l would wish to educate my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to buy my own goat.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of enough land to do farming .
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when working in my farm.